About MAIW


Founded in 1963 under the presidency of Mrs. Mildred Jones, the Association of Insurance Women of Montreal (AFAM) is governed by a board of directors composed of the officers, the ex-officio president and the director of the Canadian Association Insurance Women (ACFA).

Until 1973, AFAM was in a period of structuring, notably with the formation of the Canadian Association of Insurance Women.

From 1973 to 1983, AFAM consolidated its bases and took its place more and more within the world of insurance in Montreal, joining in particular with l’Association des Gestionnaires de Risques et d’Assurance du Québec (AGRAQ) for holding an international conference. Today, and for several years now, other partnerships have emerged with l’institut d’Assurance de dommages du Québec (IADQ) and l’Association de la Relève en Assurances du Québec (LARAQ) for the organization of training activities.


In 1993, the Mildred-Jones award, also known as the “Insurance Woman of the Year”, was created in memory of Mildred Jones, founder and first president of MAIW. This prestigious prize is awarded to a woman who, during her career, has distinguished herself in particular by her professionalism, her integrity, her leadership and her commitment to the field of insurance. The prize is awarded to the winner in front of an assembly of peers at the annual IADQ gala.

Throughout the year, MAIW offers various activities accessible to all, including non-members, such as: public speaking competition, training, seminars, cocktails, etc. Since June 1979, MAIW has brought together hundreds of golfers every year for its annual golf tournament, making this tournament the most popular in the industry. In addition, MAIW regularly publishes bulletins and newsletters to better inform its members.

An active and proactive association!

MAIW is also proud of its involvement with charities. Each year, MAIW organizes fundraisers for the benefit of women as well as a Christmas campaign for underprivileged families.

With more than 150 members, including analysts, lawyers, brokers, claims adjusters, managers, representatives, secretaries, underwriters and entrepreneurs, AFAM has been able to listen to them while adapting to the changing needs of our society. Thus, MAIW is today the largest member organization of CAIW.

An organization present at the pan-Canadian level!

Since 1971, MAIW has hosted the national conference of the Canadian Association of Insurance Women. Building on its success, the event was also held in Montreal in 1978, 1990, 2003, 2011 and 2017, bringing together members of associations from across Canada. MAIW will once again host the next congress and general assembly which will take place from May 25 to 28, 2023.

In addition, the MAIW has nine of its members who were elected to the presidency of the CAIW, namely Mildred Jones (1969-1971), Dorothy Jeffery (1975-1976), Ghislaine Perron (1981-1982), Patricia Markey (1987-1988), Francine Bertrand (1995-1996), Louise Morel (2000-2001), Michèle Malo (2006-2007), Panagiota Kalantzis (2016-2017) and Jackie Lisi (2022-2023).

The achievements and successes achieved by MAIW for more than 50 years, the dedication of its members, the place it occupies and the unity that reigns there give it a solid foundation on which the success of tomorrow rests.

Scroll to Top